March 19, 2021

Travel China

Top 4 tourist attractions in Tongxiang,China(Jiaxing Part 3)

Tongxiang City is a county-level city, part of Jiaxing, in northern Zhejiang Province, China, bordering Jiangsu province to the north. It had a population of 815,800 at the 2010 census even though its built-up area is smaller. Tongxiang was the birthplace of 20th-century novelist and cultural critic Mao Dun.

So what are the special places in Tongxiang? Let’s take a look together!

1. Wuzhen Scenic Area

Wuzhen was called Wudun in ancient times. In the Spring and Autumn Period, Wuzhen crossed the border here. It was called Wuzhen during the Xiantong period of the Tang Dynasty. There is a long history here. The ancestors of Wuzhen multiplied and lived here more than 6,000 years ago. Wuzhen is located in the northern part of Tongxiang County, Zhejiang Province. It has a low-lying terrain. It is a plain with alluvial rivers and lakes and marshes. The rivers and ports are densely intersected and have strong characteristics of a water town. Here is a beautiful place, and talented people have been born since ancient times. Famous figures in the past include Prince Liang Zhaoming who compiled “Selected Works of Zhaoming”, Mao Kun, editor of “The Eight Great Masters of the Tang and Song Dynasty”, Zhang Yangyuan, a philosopher, and Mao Dun, a writer…Today Wuzhen still retains many river ports unique to water towns. Bridges, riverside buildings, streets, storefronts, etc. If you walk along the Dongxishi River in the morning or evening, you will be nostalgic for it.

2. Tongxiang Redwood Village Scenic Area

The Sequoia Village (China) tourist attraction is located in Tongxiang, Hangjiahu Plain, known as the “Hometown of Fish and Rice, Home of Silk”, in Yangyuan Village, Longxiang Street, Tongxiang City. The geographical position is unique, with the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal in the south, Zongyang Road, Longxiang Street in the north, Jinniutang in the east, and scattered fields and villages with the characteristics of the Jiangnan water town in the west. The scenic spot is named after the green giant panda-yew trees are planted everywhere. It combines cultural tourism, ecological farming, science education, leisure and health, specialty shops, water village resorts, and multiple styles. The supporting construction includes the former residence of Mr. Yang Yuan and the yew Gardens, ecological farmhouse four parks, water meeting rooms, music theme restaurants, Huizhou style guest rooms, farmhouse experience and characteristic shopping malls. The scenic spot is now a national 3A-level scenic spot, a provincial farmhouse, and a “recreation and sightseeing base” in Jiaxing City. Here, the two kingdoms of Wu and Yue fought here, General Zongyang used to fight against Japanese martyrdom here, Mr. Yang Yuan once wrote the “Book of Supplementing Agriculture” here, Emperor Qianlong once referred to mulberry and asked silkworms here… The thousand-year-old canal is here. It is open and soothing, and incorporated into Wuzhen, and Jinniutang, which flows through the furnace of the ancient town, shows her graceful and eternal feelings. Taxus chinensis is planted everywhere in the scenic spot. There is also a yew garden in the garden. Yew is also known as yew and red cypress. It is an ancient tree species left over from the Quaternary glaciers. my country has listed it as a first-class rare and endangered plant. The medicinal value of Taxus chinensis is mainly reflected in its extract-paclitaxel. Paclitaxel has an outstanding effect on a variety of advanced cancers and is called “the last line of defense in the treatment of cancer.”

3.Puyuan Ancient Bridge Group

Puyuan Ancient Bridge Group is located in the old town area of ​​Puyuan Town. Puyuan was built in the Southern Song Dynasty. The size and layout of the old town took shape when the Pu family settled in the Song and Yuan dynasties, and it was expanded in the Ming and Qing Dynasties. It is a typical Jiangnan ancient water town. There are 9 ancient bridges in Puyuan Ancient Bridge Group: Zhong’an Bridge, Daughter Bridge, Qifeng Bridge, Dade Bridge, Dayou Bridge, Daji Bridge, Dingquan Bridge, Xiutong Bridge and Wangban Bridge. Zhong’an Bridge: Located at the East Hetou of Huayuan Street, Puyuan Town. The date of its construction has not been investigated. It was rebuilt in the fourth year of Daoguang in the Qing Dynasty (1824). It crosses the Dongshi River from east to west. It is a single-hole stone arch bridge. The bridge is 16.9 meters long, 2.2 meters wide, and has a span of 6.9 meters. The arch ring stones are laid in parallel in longitudinal sections, with promising columns, slabs, and 16 stone steps from east to west. The bridge east of the bridge was originally built to commemorate the patriotic general Shi Quan of the Southern Song Dynasty. The temple has been destroyed and only the pavilion is left. Daughter Bridge: Located at Nanshi River in Puyuan Town, it was rebuilt in the second year of Jiaqing in the Qing Dynasty (1797). It was also called “Yuer Bridge”. It was the boundary between Wu and Yue in ancient times. It was a single-hole stone arch bridge that crossed Nanshi River from east to west. Song Deyou Zhong (1275) -1276) The reconstruction of Puzhen, according to legend, in the Spring and Autumn Period, when the king of Wu sent his troops to rebel, the people of Xi had children who were able to speak, but Wu Bing was able to win, so he was ordered to be Yuer Township, and there was Yuer Pavilion on the left. It is also rumored that Goujian entered Wu and his wife was born in Taoist daughter Yuting, so it was called Daughter Pavilion, and Tingbang Bridge was called Daughter Bridge. The pavilion is abandoned, but the bridge still exists. The bridge is 17.4 meters in length, 2.8 meters in width, 7 meters in clear span, and 4 meters in arch. East 15th, West 17th stone steps, stone fences are placed on both sides, the top of the bridge is lightly carved with Ruyi heads, and the arch ring stones are laid in a longitudinal joint and sectioned side by side.

4. Former residence of Mao Dun in Wuzhen

Wuzhen Mao Dun’s Former Residence is located in Xizha, Wuzhen. The building area is about 1,000 square meters. It is divided into upper and lower floors. There are 59 pieces of Mao Dun’s relics, nearly 1,000 books, more than 90 pictures and other precious historical materials. The entire exhibition hall is based on life. The road and the road of literature are the main lines, showing the magnificent life of Mr. Mao Dun.

The former residence of Mao Dun in Wuzhen, Tongxiang City, Zhejiang Province, is the place where Comrade Mao Dun (Shen Yanbing), a pioneer of the May Fourth New Cultural Movement, a great revolutionary writer, and one of the earliest party members in China, was born and spent his childhood and youth. The former residence of Mao Dun is located at No. 17, Guanqian Street, Wuzhen, Tongxiang City, Zhejiang Province.

The former residence was built in the middle of the nineteenth century. It is a four-bay two-entry wooden frame building facing the street, divided into two units, east and west, with a construction area of ​​444.25 square meters. Around 1885, Mao Dun’s great-grandfather purchased a residence. Behind the building is a garden the size of a half acre of land, where Mao Dun’s great-grandfather once built three bungalows. In the early 1930s, Mao Dun used the manuscript fees and personally designed the sketches to build a study room with a Japanese private house style, with a construction area of ​​104.92 square meters.

Wrapping Up

Welcome to Tongxiang, my friends from all over the world. Let’s go travel and explore together soon after COVID-19 end!!

Subscribe to Us!

3D Academy YouTube

3D Academy EN Facebook

3D Instagram 3dacademy.tw

3D Online English School

 

Authour

Popular Post

Recent Post